The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas


By Charo Albala

When this book fell in my hands I had no idea of what it was about. I thought it was a children’s story.   However, as soon as I started reading I couldn’t put it down. The character of Bruno with all his innocence and tenderness made me see the Holocaust from a new perspective.
The boy was the son of a Nazi commander who is assigned to Auschwitz. Bruno missed Berlin and his friends and from the first moment he is curious about the strange people he could see from his bedroom window.

One day, out of boredom, he decides to go on an exploration tour along the wire fence. Eventually , he finds a little boy  named Shmuel who is wearing striped pyjamas.
Despite all their differences and disagreements the two children become close friends  until the moment they embark on a final adventure with unexpected consequences.

After reading the book I travelled to Poland where I had the opportunity to visit the real concentration Camp in Auschwitz.
Then, I realized that reality must have been even worse than fictions, as you can imagine looking at the hair-raising pictures I took there that can be seen below.

concentrationcamp1bunks

toilet-seats

crematorium

3 thoughts on “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

  1. Hello.
    I’ve been to Oswiecim, Poland -Auschwitz is how Nazis called that place- too some years ago, and it was terrible.
    I saw impressive things such us piles of things like glass frames, suitcases, prothesis, human-hair made materials, and a huge pile of human hair some tons weight.
    Appalling.
    Our tour guide -a blonde blue-eyed woman called Dominica- told us terrible histories about Nazis and Jews.
    I didn’t take any photographs.
    See you.

  2. I have read quite hard critics in forums against this book, and for what I know about it sounds like another title to catch the interest of casual-readers :$

    Holocaust + Publicity = $$$

  3. I agree with you Yuri, there is no room for doubt that Bruno couldn’t cross the fence, not even could he have gone out every evening to meet his friend. However I have found it interesting because it is a digestible version of the Holocaust that can be read and understood by adolescents.
    Finally, although it is not a ‘misterpiece’ like “One Hundred Years of Solitude” I think it is quite readable and thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

