Critics’ Picks: All About Eve


If you haven’t seen this wonderful film by Joseph L. Mankiewicz you don’t know what you’re missing! The television I grew up with offered just two channels (if you were lucky), so your choice of programmes was quite limited. However, the advantage of such a restricted choice was that I had the chance to enter the world of the black and white classics. And All About Eve, together with Philadelphia Stories were my favourites.
According to NY Times critic A.O. Scott All About Eve is a “spectacular”, “delicious, malicious story” which pictures the clashes of egos and rivalries in the theatre world of late the 1940’s. Watch a scene from the film:


And A. O. Scott’s  review:

2 thoughts on “Critics’ Picks: All About Eve

  1. I have never seen this movie, but I´ve heard all good things about it, though 🙂

    I´ll wait for it to appear in TCM someday XD

  2. Hello.
    I have this movie at home.
    It is a classic, but I don’t like the story. Too much envy, deception, and greed for my taste.
    Though it is really a good movie.
    Bye.

Leave a Reply

