Advice column: The missing choker


200px-featherLast summer I went on a holiday with a friend to Greece. I shared the room with her and we had some quarrels, not very important things, but it was annoying.
I hired the safe ot the room at the hotel. It was inside a cupboard. I had a diamond choker that had belonged to my family for generations and I put it in the safe.
I wore the choker in a reception that was held near the hotel. when the reception finished I put the choker in the safe again.
The night before the departure I got sick and had to go to hospital. She came with me and offered to pack my bags. I gave her the key number to open the safe. She came to pick me up from the hospital. Fortunately I only had had indigestion and was able to leave in time to take the plane back home.
Eventually, once I unpacked my bags the choker was not there. I phoned my friend to ask her, but she said she had put it in the bags. I sealed the bags with a plastic band and they had a padlock, and the bags had not been opened at the airport.
Now I don’t know what to do. Could you give me a hint on how to deal with this situation?

4 thoughts on “Advice column: The missing choker

  1. I’m sorry to tell you this, but it seems clear that your friend took your choker.
    You have no proves but nobody else knew the key number so there’s no other possibility. It must have been her.
    Obviously she has denied the stealing so in this case, the best thing you can do is to take advise from a lawyer. He/she might tell you what to do or how to sort it out.

    Good luck!

  2. Hmm…It´s a difficult situation… you have nothing to prove that your friend stole your choker while he went to the safe… If I were you I would ask about ir to the owner of the Hotel, because he might help you to find out who was the thief. There shure must be security cameras in the place and maybe they have recorded the one who commited the crime 😉

    If this fails, you should talk to your friend direct and honestly and beg her to tell you what happened that day 😦

  3. Aaargh, more mistakes 😦

    2nd line: It´s not “h”, is “she”
    3rd line: “ir” should be “it”
    4th line: “sure” and not “shure”

  4. In my opinion the best thing you can do is ask your friend again if she has the choker, you can say her that you liked it a lot and you feel depressed because it was important to your family, if she is a friend she would give the choker to you.

    If you don’t get back it , try to find a good lawyer!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

