New Section: Our Advice Column


In this new section of the blog you can become the phychologist that you have inside, the one that is always ready to give the best advice to a friend in need.

You can send real stories for your classmates to coment or simply recreate a case that you think is debatable.The articles can be sent anonymously or signed with a nickname. (Read a case from a real Advice Column from the Washington Post here).

And the first story for you to coment and give advice has already been sent by some of your classmates.

Dear friends,

I’m very worried about my marriage. The point is that for the last three months I have been noticing changes in my husband’s behaviour. He has started to arrive home earlier with no particular reason and he has begun to worry about his physical appearance, buying new clothes, using perfume and going to the gym.

At the same time, our nanny seems to be nervous when she is alone with me in a room and has started to show a distant attitude towards me. I find this behaviour very disrespectful. Moreover, my husband and our nanny’s behaviour has become too familiar while we are all  in the same room and I think it is offensive for me. I suspect that they are having an affair behind my back and that my husband has fallen in love with her, but I have no further evidence than their attitude to each other.

What should I do? I’m afraid to talk about it to my friends and I don’t want to be alone. I really love my family, but I don’t want to be humiliated in my own home.

Wife in despair

Send you coments with your views about Wife in despair’s case.

3 thoughts on “New Section: Our Advice Column

  1. It seems that your husband has an affair with your nanny but you don´t have any prove so perhaps all is in your mind.
    If yours suspicions are true and you ask your husband, he might deny it, so I would recommend you to tempt them with some kind of trick.
    What you need is a proof. You need to be sure of your suspicions, so why don´t you tell your husband that a friend of yours has invited you and your kids to a trip? Tell him that next weekend you´re leaving on saturday morning and you´ll come back the next day in the evening.
    You could ask a friend to look after your kids for the day so you´ll have time to “espy” your husband and chase him in case he goes out.
    If you don´t feel capable to do that, you can tell your problem to a close friend and persuade him/her to do it.

    I know it´s a difficult situation but it´s important to you to sort it out as soon as posible.

    Good luck!

  2. Dear wife in despair,
    I see you are worried about the strange behaviour of your husband, nonetheless you would not jump to conclusions.
    From my point of view, the main priority is to check he has an affair with the nanny. You could try proposing to him a change of employee on the pretext that it is better for children a more expert person, or whatever excuses that could seem convincing. You only have to observe the way he reacts.

  3. As I see it, it is clear that they are having an affair, since both your husband and the nanny have changed their behaviour. However, it could be possible that you are wrong…
    On one hand, you should speak to your husband and tell him what is worrying you, not only to find out what is happening, but to talk about the issue because the more time you don’t speak, the worse you will feel. On the other hand, if you don’t trust the nanny, you should change it.

Leave a Reply

