Real arson anecdote


Posted by Quaver1969

Well… You’d never guess what my particular way to start the year in 2000 New Year’s Day was. I woke up in the morning and tidied up the living room and the kitchen. I was sharing the flat with a woman and her son. He had gone to his grandmother’s house to spend Christmas. We had had a party for some friends on New Year’s Eve. We had had good fun that night and the house was a mess. I can’t stand mess, so I cleaned the remains of the party and turned the dishwasher on. Then I went back to my bedroom to go on sleeping. When I was about to fall asleep I heard a strange sound and startled for some seconds, but then I thought it might have been a noise coming from some neighbour’s house. So I tossed in my bed and tried to go to sleep again. But then I heard another strange sound. I have a tendency to identify where sounds come from. Therefore, I got up from my bed and went towards the entrance of the house. I fetched a broom from the cupboard, to use it as a weapon just in case someone had broken into my house. As I passed by the kitchen’s door I looked inside and I saw a thick, black column of smoke coming from the bottom of the dishwasher. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I checked the electrical main switch to see if electricity had been cut off, and then ran to the sink to get the tube of the tap out of its socket (it was a tap similar to a shower tap, with a hose attached to it) and pointed it towards the bottom of the dishwasher trying to put out the fire. Then I started to shout calling my friend by her name to wake her up. When she came I told her to go to the basement to get a fire extinguisher and come back. She disappeared quickly. Some minutes later a man appeared in the kitchen’s doorway. I asked him who he was. He told me he lived upstairs and had come because the whole staircase was in a cloud of thick, black smoke and the door of my flat was open. He asked me to get out of the kitchen. “You’ve been breathing that smoke for too long, get out, don’t worry I’ll put out the fire”. I went to my living room, opened the window and slumped in the sofa. I had been resting for a few minutes when suddenly I saw a fireman wearing his uniform: a helmet, jacket, trousers, a canister on his back and a mask on his face (I thought it was the hangover of the previous night, but no, it was real). That fireman was the first of a group of firemen who had entered in my house to put out the fire that unexpectedly had come from the dishwasher! Well… Now I look suspiciously at appliances when I turn them on, specially the dishwasher. So when I tidy up the house I’m in a… sort of surveillance mode. And beware of appliances! You never know!

Posted by Quaver1969

Well… You’d never guess what my particular way to start the year in 2000 New Year’s Day was. I woke up in the morning and tidied up the livingroom and the kitchen. I was sharing the flat with a woman and her son. He had gone to his grandmother’s house to spend Christmas. We gave a party for some friends on New Year’s Eve. We had a good fun that night and the house was a mess. I can’t stand mess, so I cleaned the remains of the party and turned the dishwasher on. Then I went back to my bedroom to go on sleeping. When I was about to fall asleep I heard a strange sound and startled for some seconds, but then I thought it might have been a noise coming from some neighbor’s house. So I turned my back in my bed and tried to sleep again. But then I heard another strange sound. I have a tendency to identify where sounds come from. Therefore, I got up from my bed and went towards the entrance of the house. I fetched a broom from the cupboard, just in case someone had entered in my house, to use it as a weapon. As I passed by the kitchen’s door I looked inside and I saw a thick, black smoke column coming from the bottom of the dishwasher. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I checked the electrical main switch to see if electricity had been cut off, and then ran to the sink to get the tube of the tap out of its socket (it was a tap similar to a shower tap, with a hose atached to it) and pointed it towards the botom of the dishwasher trying to put out the fire. Then I started to shout calling my friend by her name to wake her up. When she came I told her to go to the basement to get a fire extinguisher and come back. She disappeared quickly. Some minutes later a man appeared in the kitchen’s doorway. I asked him who he was. He told me he lived upstairs and had come because the whole staircase was in a cloud of thick, black smoke and the door of my flat was open. He asked me to get out of the kitchen. “You’ve been breathing that smoke for too long, get out, don’t worry I’ll put off the fire”. I went to my livingroom, opened the window and slumped in the sofa. I had been resting for a few minutes when suddenly I saw a fireman wearing his uniform: a helmet, jacket, trousers, a canister on his back and a mask on his face (I thought it was the hangover of the previous night, but no, it was real). That fireman was the first of a group of firemen who had entered in my house to put out the fire that unexpectedly had come from the dishwasher! Well… Now I look suspiciously at appliances when I turn them on, specially the dishwasher. So when I tidy up the house I’m in a… sort of surveillance mode. And beware of appliances! You never know!

Leave a Reply

