Love and Marriage


I found this video by chance (how else, on the Internet?) and I agree so wholeheartedly with the presenter (Keith Olbermann) that I decided to post it here.

I’m not very sure if it’s going to start a debate. I think it should, considering the results of the Proposition 8.

In fact I’m not even sure you (my students, if anybody reads this it’s going to be you) are going to watch the whole video. Please, do. And when you do, tell us that you think.

As a listening exercise, I would like to challenge you with a double question: Why should the term marriage be redefined in the USA? / How and why has the word been redefined in the past?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

(You can read the transcript here.)

3 thoughts on “Love and Marriage

  1. Good morning.
    I’ve been listening to the presenter in this video and understood most of his words. What I didn’t understand was the final part of the video. I missed a big word so I would be grateful if you would put the whole transcript.
    About Proposition 8, I think it is a mistake because it is to go backwards in civil rights. Besides people should be equal in rights and duties (think about taxes for instance).
    On the matter of definition of marriage…
    According to the Spanish Law a marriage is a contract made between two spouses. That legal definition includes every relationship, I mean gay and straight relationships.
    It’s a curious thing that black people’s marriages in USA were not considered legal marriages in the past.
    Well, it comes to my mind that in ancient Greece women were considered not to have souls, but men were considered to have them.
    And finally… I’ve remembered a joke.
    What is the difference between a sorceress and a witch?

    Five years of marriage!!!

    Ha, ha, ha.

    See you.

  2. I had no idea what the Proposition 8 was, but after listening to this video and reading some articles about this issue I totally agree with Keith Olberman: It´s Horrible!

    How it´s possible? How people behave in that way? Aren´t all of us human beings? I can´t understand why some people still think that same sex couples can´t have the right to marry. As Keith Olberman said, the same sex couples want the same chance of happiness; they don´t want to take anything away from us. They want what we want, nothing more!

    “Only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.” I can´t believe it!
    I think redefining the term of marriage is a must. It should be changed to also include same sex couples, basically because the freedoom to marry is a human right. The exclusion of gays or lesbian unions is a way of discrimination because it means that these couples has a second class status and this is not true. It´s completely unfair and of course a way of social exclusion.
    I don´t think a gay marrige or a lesbian marriage is unnatural. Where is the line which separates natural and unnatural things? Those who think the redefinition of this term will have negative impact on heterosexuals rights are completely wrong.
    Our society has changed a lot and still does; that´s why we need to improve and that´s why we need to head for a more inclusive society. As Keith Olberman said, this isn´t about politics, it´s a question of HUMAN HEART. Everyone should have the choice to marry the person they love.

    Love for all!
    Bye, bye

Leave a Reply

