No Logo: a response to globalization


Naomi Klein, Canadian journalist and writer, first published No Logo in December 1999 as a critical response to the increasingly powerful international corporations in the new globalized world. The social context in which No Logo appeared was preceded by the serious incidents during the World Trade Organization Conference in Seattle, with violent clashes between some anti-globalization protesters and the police.

You can learn more about the violent incidents in this article and with the trailer of the film, Battle in Seattle that is about to be released set at the time of the W.T.O. Conference.

In this interactive activity, you can watch Naomi Klein presenting her book and explaining the basic theories defended in her work. Do the exercise and see how you get on!

Read some excerpts from the book: Part I and Part II.

13 thoughts on “No Logo: a response to globalization

  1. Good afternoon.
    I have been trying to make the activity on “No Logo”, but there is a problem with the page, so I’m reporting it to you, María.
    Anyway, I read the transcription of the video and I find it interesting because I agree with the ideas that Naomi and the narrator are talking about.
    I think there are some mistakes in the transcription:
    “Then” for “than”.
    “Banding” for “branding”.
    “Aloud” for “allowed”.
    And there is an “are” missing.
    I am not sure if “help sb. take action” is correct or if there is a “to” missing, so that it should say “help sb. to take action”, or if both are correct.
    I do not know the meaning of “It had been branded”, I guess from the context that the meaning is students had been warned about the consequencies of their actions, but I’m not sure.
    And I can’t find the meaning of the word “Canadiana”.
    I hope to have been helpful to you and the rest of the class.
    See you.
    Best regards.

  2. Thank you so much, Cristina. The problem with the link has been solved. As for the transcript, what you read was what was found next to the video, and you know what it is like when you are typing long passages and you concentrate on the content: you miss errors and that’s what happened to the generous people who posted this transcript.
    And you can use both “help someone do something” and “help someone to do something”. They are both perfectly correct.

  3. Good afternoon.
    I have read the excerpt of the book Part I and I find it very interesting because if we, ordinary people, have one mighty power, it is the power of deciding where and how we spend our money.
    We are living in a consumer society, that’s why.
    We can directly have an effect on those figures by simply adding or not adding money to those brands’ incomes by buying or not buying their products.
    I personally think every time I buy. Sometimes I’m not consistent with what I think, I mean, sometimes I buy goods or in places which politics I don’t approve, but I am aware of what and where I am buying.
    Anyway, most of times I am consistent.
    My mother never knows what to buy me because of this!!!
    Poor woman!
    She knows I do not like big brands.
    I have got a pps on this subject, if you want me to send it to you, give me your e-mail address and I will do it.
    Do you have any attitude on this subject?
    See you.

  4. A very interesting video. The book seems to be interesting as well.

    I´ve never thought about brands like the author of the book does, it´s terrible to think about the hard conditions of the people working in their factories.

    Fortunately I don´t care about these franchises at all, but it´s true that nowadays a lot of people is obsessed with wearing the best brands and things like that… it´s a bit depressing, people should care about the products they´re buying, and not about the brand.

  5. I once watched a documental which dealed with this issue, and said the same things as this one. Another issue it dealed with was how companies as electronical ones makes, i.e. computers with a piece with a determinated shape, and past months, they build the same computer with another shape of that piece. So, if it that piece gets broken, you can’t buy a piece for repairing the computer, you might need to buy a new computer…

    The class is finished… must go… bye!

  6. Hi everybody.

    I find this book very interesting . In my oponion books like this shows us that there musn`t be the unique thinking about this brand globalisation world.
    This book is a good reason for reflexing that something doesn`t work.

  7. I´ve watched the video of No Logo and I agree with the author of the idea she´s suggesting.
    Nowadays, we are all in a consumer society and a lot of people wants to wear fashionable clothes, the best brands, … and that´s because these companies which the video and these texts talk about are in every place of the world: on tv, billboards on the road, at the cinema, on the magazines …
    The worst thing I found about that is that kind of best brands aren´t available for most of people talking about the cost of them, and it shouldn´t be allowed because I think that everybody knows how this kind of “brand products” are made by these corporations.
    I totally agree with the idea that globalization isn´t an advance and this book is a good option to reflexing about it.
    That´s all!!

  8. Hello!

    This is a very interesting issue, because it shows us the bad conditions where people live in the Third World. The Capitalism is as a shark, it is a life style (where we are living) , that eat away at the minories and the poor countries. The main reason because exist this situation is the money, whereas this countries are dirt poor, they’ll supply work cheaper than an occidental country.

    The first question that the Governments must know is if the life conditions of million of people around the world have a prize or if this system (the capitalism) can have a good future, we must remember the economic disaster that is happening nowadays…

  9. I’ve watched the video and also read the article and I’ve found it very interesting, especially the article. The exercise is also very useful for improving our listening.

    The video is a very good pint of view of
    globalization and makes you think about it. I think the book could be interesting.

  10. Good morning.
    I’ve watched de videos and read some articles about Naomi in this blog, and they have remembered me some conferences and documentaries.
    I think that brands we allow to belong to a social group, to live in a community and to be respect by the group. But we really are happy???
    In my opinion we forget our own personality influenced by the advertisements, TV or social movements. We should have the opportunity to choose freedom.
    We should develop fair trade, giving the Third World an opportunity.
    What do you think?
    Bye.

  11. Good morning,

    I like so much this video and I agree with Naomi in some aspects like this sentence: ” Branding was a process of trying to create distinction and individuality within the context of manufactured sameness.”. This is true because there are some super brands those you can recognise with a simple comercial on tv, in the street, … Examples are Nike or McDonalds.

    But, like other things, brands have another side: the conditions of the workers. She says that are basically workers but without conditions for working and this is against the human rights and brands haven’t to continue with this situation I think.

  12. Very interesting.
    Truly, brands are gods of the modern era. People build their own identities by buying different brands. It’s like if they don’t buy they will have none. Probably, that’s a bit exaggerated, ha, ha! But, on the other hand, I see a lot of people everyday really obsessed with brands. Especially, young people. You just have to listen to what some of them speak about. The only things they speak about are cool dress and cars. They worship inanimate objects! I confess I buy brand dress sometimes (probably, I shouldn’t in order not to contribute to the exploitation of workers by multinational corporations), but I know that it is just dress, not some magic object that will give me super powers and change my life! People of the world, KILL YOUR IDOLS!

  13. I´ve been reading part I of the Naomi Klein article about advertising and branding and how the role of advertising has changed from delivering products to creating an image around a brand. If I have understood she is trying to tell us that the goal is to link brand to goods such runners, sugar, etc, in order to eliminate bit by bit the goods, the idea, the concept of the goods for their brands and using selling techniques advertising in national parks, public libraries. So I very worried about it. We have seen the effects on young people. I know a little girl, 10 years old who is always asking her mother, for instance, to buy Nikes or Reeboks instead of runners or a rucksack.

Leave a Reply

